State
Ogun
CAI asked 10 questions about climate implementation in Ogun and read 14 public documents. None of those questions could be answered in full from the documents reviewed.
- Capital
- Abeokuta
- Geopolitical zone
- South West
- Public documents reviewed
- 14
Primary climate risk
River flooding
Ogun river and dam-release flooding submerges downstream farmland and settlements during heavy rains.
Source (2025)What the public record covers
On every question the documents say something, but never enough to confirm the answer. No published budget document that CAI could read line by line was found for this jurisdiction.
This shows what CAI found in public documents, not climate performance. A gap in the record is not a zero, and is not proof that nothing is happening.
Evidence found, question by question
Policy
2 of 3
Evidence found for 2 of 3 questions
Spending
3 of 3
Evidence found for 3 of 3 questions
Outcomes
4 of 4
Evidence found for 4 of 4 questions
Policy
The climate strategy, the law or order behind it, and the institution responsible for the work.
- Questions with evidence
- 2 of 3
- Documents
- 5
Is a climate policy or strategy published?
External governance profiling identifies climate institutional activity, but a qualifying adopted Ogun state-wide climate policy/action plan was not retrieved from a primary source.
What would close this gap: Publish the official policy or plan, its formal status and date, implementation responsibilities, and any current progress review.
Faint signal2025 Ogun Climate Governance ProfileIs there a published law or order giving authority for climate action?
The public sources reviewed did not include authenticated Ogun climate law/regulation/executive instrument meeting.
What would close this gap: Publish the authenticated law, gazette, regulation or executive instrument, including its current status and operative climate duties.
Nothing foundIs an institution responsible for climate work named and working?
Ogun's official Ministry of Environment has a Department of Special Duties and Climate Change that serves as focal department for state climate policy, adaptation/mitigation, greenhouse gas inventory, MRV and national reporting.
What would close this gap: Publish the institution's mandate, named leadership or staffing, identifiable resources, and dated outputs or coordination records.
Visible, incomplete2025 Ogun Climate Governance Profile
Where the public record stops
- Link a dated 2025 operational output specifically to the climate department.
Documents behind policy (5 documents)
- 2025 Ogun Climate Governance Profile
Policy/governance source
No provision-level document links established from the preserved public text.
- Department of Special Duties and Climate Change
Policy/governance source
No provision-level document links established from the preserved public text.
- Ogun Climate Change Hub
Policy/governance source
No provision-level document links established from the preserved public text.
- 2025 Midterm Flood Alert / relocation warning
Policy/governance source
No provision-level document links established from the preserved public text.
Spending
What published budget and expenditure records show about climate spending, energy projects, and the audit of that money.
- Questions with evidence
- 3 of 3
- Documents
- 3
Do published records show climate-related spending?
The published fiscal records did not provide enough detail to establish this amount.
What would close this gap: Publish an accessible 2025 full-year execution file and the machine-readable ledger fields needed for independent detail.
Visible, incompleteOgun State 2025 Audited Budget Execution ReportIs spending on renewable energy projects reported?
The published fiscal records did not provide enough detail to establish this amount.
What would close this gap: Publish a machine-readable 2025 executed energy-capital ledger with MDA, project/transaction ID, economic classification, executed YTD amount, funding/control source, renewable attribution, allocation splits for mixed projects and duplicate-reconciliation keys.
Faint signalOgun State 2025 Audited Budget Execution ReportIs climate-related spending audited, and is the outcome published?
The public records did not show the complete sequence from the audit finding to the government’s response and resolution.
What would close this gap: Publish the climate-relevant expenditure population audited, audit mandate/scope/coverage, methods, findings and severity, scope limitations, management response with owners/deadlines, and independent follow-up or closure assurance.
Faint signalOgun audited-statement search path
Where the public record stops
- The full-year record is publicly listed, but a usable source file was not retrieved from the public website searched.
- A relevant public source was located or listed, but line-level executed energy-capital detail is not set out in the public sources reviewed.
- The public record shows general fiscal/audit accountability visibility, but does not disclose a completed audit-control cycle specifically covering climate-relevant public expenditure with response and independent closure.
Documents behind spending (3 documents)
- Ogun State 2025 Audited Budget Execution Report
Budget performance / expenditure source
- Ogun partners renewable energy firms to generate 1,100MW solar power
Project visibility
- Ogun audited-statement search path
Audited-statement source discovery and FY2025 execution page
The public record shows general fiscal/audit accountability visibility, but does not disclose a completed audit-control cycle specifically covering climate-relevant public expenditure with response and independent closure.
Outcomes
Measured results: emissions reduced, people helped, priority groups reached and targets met.
- Questions with evidence
- 4 of 4
- Documents
- 2
Is a reduction in emissions measured?
The public sources reviewed did not provide all the measurement needed to establish the reported result.
What would close this gap: Publish outcome datasets with intervention IDs, dates, locations, attribution, direct/indirect flags, unique privacy-safe beneficiary keys, priority-group comparison base coverage, pre-existing targets and actuals, and state greenhouse gas inventory methods where applicable.
Visible, incompleteOgun Climate Change HubIs the number of people helped to cope with climate impacts measured?
The public sources reviewed did not provide all the measurement needed to establish the reported result. Climate hub and renewable partnership records do not expose direct unique beneficiaries.
What would close this gap: Publish outcome datasets with intervention IDs, dates, locations, attribution, direct/indirect flags, unique privacy-safe beneficiary keys, priority-group comparison base coverage, pre-existing targets and actuals, and state greenhouse gas inventory methods where applicable.
Visible, incompleteOgun Climate Change HubIs the share of that help reaching priority groups measured?
The public sources reviewed did not provide all the measurement needed to establish the reported result.
What would close this gap: Publish outcome datasets with intervention IDs, dates, locations, attribution, direct/indirect flags, unique privacy-safe beneficiary keys, priority-group comparison base coverage, pre-existing targets and actuals, and state greenhouse gas inventory methods where applicable.
Visible, incompleteOgun Climate Change HubWere stated targets met?
Climate hub and solar partnership records visible. No due 2025 result against the target established.
What would close this gap: Publish outcome datasets with intervention IDs, dates, locations, attribution, direct/indirect flags, unique privacy-safe beneficiary keys, priority-group comparison base coverage, pre-existing targets and actuals, and state greenhouse gas inventory methods where applicable.
Visible, incompleteOgun Climate Change Hub
Where the public record stops
- The public record supports implementation visibility, but does not publish enough raw variables to establish the reported result.
- The public record supports implementation visibility, but does not publish enough raw variables to establish the reported result.
- The public record supports implementation visibility, but does not publish enough raw variables to establish the reported result.
Documents behind outcomes (2 documents)
- Ogun Climate Change Hub
Official state
Substantive source material is locally preserved. The evidence URL and retrieval route are documented.
- Ogun partners renewable energy firms to generate 1,100MW solar power
Official state
Substantive source material is locally preserved. The evidence URL and retrieval route are documented.
Climate work named in the documents
These are the kinds of climate work named in Ogun's published records. The list shows what appears in documents, not how much was delivered.
Solar and mini-grids
Published records name solar or mini-grid electricity work in this jurisdiction.
Other supported sectors
Published records name cross-cutting climate or resilience work that does not sit in one sector.
Recommendations
What CAI recommends publishing
These recommendations follow from where the public record stops. They are about what is published, not a judgement that Ogun failed to act.
- 01
Publish the law behind climate action
Release the signed law, gazette notice or executive order, showing its current status and the climate duties it places on government.
- 02
Publish the climate plan and its status
Release the climate plan or strategy with its formal status and date, who is responsible for delivering it, and any progress review.
- 03
Publish the renewable energy spending record
Release a downloadable record of money actually spent on renewable energy projects, showing the agency, the project and the amount.
- 04
Publish the audit of climate spending
Release which climate-related spending was audited, what the auditors found, how serious it was, and how government answered.
- 05
Name the institution doing the work
Release the responsible body's mandate, its named leadership, the resources it holds, and dated records of what it has done.
